

LOCAL BOUNDARY COMMISSION 550 West 7TH Avenue, Suite 1640 Anchorage, Alaska 99501 PHONE: 907-269-4559 / 4587 FAX: 907-269-4563

STATE OF ALASKA LOCAL BOUNDARY COMMISSION

Minutes of Meeting for August 10, 2023 at 10:00 am Anchorage Via Zoom Meeting

Chair Wood called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m. Present at the meeting are commissioners John Harrington, Larry Wood, and Clay Walker. Commissioner Ely Cyrus was excused. Commissioner Clayton Trotter. All commissioners are attending via video teleconference.

Also attending the meeting were Rep. Mike Cronk (R-Tok), Dave Stancliff, staff to representative Cronk, James Squyers, Pamela Good, Sara Chambers (Commerce), Jedediah Smith (LBC staff), Sandra Moeller (director, Division of Community and Regional Affairs), Gene Hickey (Dept. of Law), as well as two members of the public who were not identified.

Clay Walker recently appointed to the seat serving the fourth judicial district, served for seven years on the Denali Borough Assembly, as its presiding officer, and currently as the Denali Borough Mayor, a position he has held for 10 years. He serves on the Alaska Municipal League board, and served as president in 2017. He received his masters of public administration from the University of Alaska Southeast.

Commissioner Harrington motioned to approve the agenda. Commissioner Walker seconded the motion. The motion passes 3-0.

Commissioner Harrington motioned to approve the minutes of the March 30, 2023 meeting. Commissioner Walker seconded the motion. Motion passes 3-0.

Commissioner Trotter joined the meeting at approximately 10:10 a.m.

LBC staff Jedediah Smith reported the technical review for Xunaa Borough incorporation petition was almost complete and commissioners should anticipate receiving their copy in coming weeks. LBC staff also received a draft detachment and incorporation petition from a community group in Eagle River, requesting an informal technical review.

LBC staff requested the Commission relax 3 AAC 110.700(d) for the purpose of not requiring public comments on the Xunaa borough petition that are submitted electronically to be submitted a second time by mail.

Commissioner Walker motioned to relax 3 AAC 110.700(d). Commissioner Trotter seconded the motion. The motion passes 4-0.

LBC Staff presented draft regulation changes around HB69, regarding the reclassification of certain first class cities. AS 44.33.812 grants the LBC the authority to adopt regulations providing standards for boundary changes.

AAG Hickey told the commission he reviewed the reclassification request letter from Tanana, and if the city wants the reclassification to take place now, it would have to submit a petition under the current regulations. Hickey recommended asking the City of Tanana to withdraw its request until the commission can adopt standards under the new legislation.

Commissioner Harrington moved to open a regulations file with the department of law concerning the reclassification standards. Commissioner Trotter seconded the motion.

Rep. Mike Cronk (R-Tok) said the purpose of the bill was to keep things as simple as possible. After reviewing the draft regulations, he said they would be extremely burdensome to the community. He recommended keeping the process as simple as possible.

LBC staff requested the motion be amended to include an oral public hearing after the written public comment period closes. Commissioner Harrington and Commissioner Trotter accepted the amendment to the motion. The motion passes 4-0.

Chair Wood asked the public if they had any comments on matters not currently pending before the commission. There were none.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 10:40 a.m.

APPROVED:

LOCAL BOUNDARY COMMISSION

LARRY WOOD, CHAIR

ATTEST:

JEDEDIAH SMITH, STAFF